#2Radio needs to re-invent itself

Before we get too far into this blog/rant, I feel it I should let you know that this is coming from my history in radio and what I think I see it as today. More research is necessary, and that’s where we’ll begin

Throughout media history, and because of the advancement of technology, different mediums have had to adapt to stay relevant. Newspaper is the perfect example. We can get our news from any source on the interent therefore the actual print paper becomes less important. Smart newspapers have made the adjustment to an online presence and consequently increased their readership beyond their normal geographic radius. It is a slippery slope however, and these same publications need to make sure they stay true to their geographic roots and not completely abandon the local audience. The newspaper is just one example, but I think it makes my point.

What I’m saying about radio is that it needs to find a way to stay relevant to engage the audience. How often do you tune in to the radio? In the market I live in if you’re tuning in during your commute, you may only be listening to the radio for about 15-20 minutes at a time. With competition coming from such services as Pandora, Spotify and your own personal MP3 player/phone, terrestrial radio has a long uphill battle just to keep your attention. The current format of talking at you and selling air to advertisers so they can talk at you is not as successful as it used to be. There are some innovators like Chris MIller Digital who has gone from successful radio programming to successful social media integration within radio programming. But the more I think about it the more I tend to believe that more needs to be done. And this is where I fall short. I know something needs to be done, but offer no solution. How can radio stay relavent? How can radio engage the audience successfully to maintain a positive revenue stream? I suppose I can keep pointing the finger and what created the problem: the telecommunications act of 1996, streaming music services, user created content, etc. There are radio trade sites that provide some good insight into how radio can become relavent again. But the question remains, what can radio do to get you to listen? You tell me.

2 thoughts on “#2Radio needs to re-invent itself”

  1. AP…interesting thoughts. If anyone in the biz blames the TeleComm Act, they’re on peyote. ‘Radio’ has had ample time to re-adjust and see the big picture. But many of the ‘shakers’ think that if you have a website and stream, you’re ‘good to go’. Wrong. The majority of my clients approach it the same as they did 15 years ago. Same ‘blah’ copy, same dumb promotions. Very few people write anything creative or request anything creative. ‘Content’ is king, and ‘content’ to many in our industry is a foreign concept. I LOVE my chosen industry, but it needs to remove its head from its ‘backside’ and get with the program.

    1. I agree whole-heartedly. Content, content, content! And the removal of head from backside. Sometimes I think the industry is letting ego in the way of progress.
      I mention telecom act because part of what I saw was, after the acquisitions came a reduction in staff, content, and passion for our art, especially in the smaller markets.

Leave a Reply

