Run Japan #007 Moving forward?

A quick glance at last weeks blog and it’s contents got me to look and see if I did any follow through. The conclusion is, I need better follow through, and more time. And better follow through.

I don’t know if I’ve articulated how busy things are for me in this bloggy space, but here is a quick run-down. I’ve returned to school (20 years later) and am almost finished with my degree in public relations. Currently I am taking 12 credits of coursework. I also work two jobs. One is a pretty consistent 25 hours or more a week, the other is event-centric and populates most of my weekend activities. On top of school and work(s) I am planning and training for #RunJapan.  Oh yea, and I don’t think I’ve mentioned that my wife and I, after thirteen years of marriage, have decided to go our separate ways, so I’m dealing with and/or avoiding the specifics that go along with that.

Now, back to that to-do list. Line by line let’s see what I did – or didn’t do.

  • Simplify. Maybe to, “Running the length of Japan for charity.” I’ll have to run that past the focus groups.
    I have not moved forward on this in any way, shape, or form. 
  • Approach sponsors for: Shoes, clothes, food, car/van rental, airlines, guide, film crew, everything I can think of! Start NOW.
    I have made zero cold-calls. I did however get a name or two from some friends – but I haven’t reached out to ANY possible sponsor yet. 
  • Research, LOTS of research
    I could say I’m doing research all the time, and in a way that is true. I just don’t know how much if it is applicable to #RunJapan
  • Roughly map a possible course
    I do have what I think is the route I may take for the first week. Here is the google map of that
  • Make some friends in the Ultra-Running Community in Japan
    I have yet to reach out to the running communities that I’ll be crossing paths with while in Japan.
  • Keep blogging and updating the gofundme site and fund this trip!
    I have added a new feature I like to call “Consider This”. Random one-sentence or so musings of things I think of to that I’ll have to consider as I plan #RunJapan

So to recap, of the six items listed since last week, I maybe sort of did 1.75 of them. Not a good track record. Let’s see what I can do this next week. Between papers, being due, tests to study for, jobs to work, personal issues to handle, running/training to get in, eating and sleeping I should be able to get at least one message out to a potential sponsor, right?

I don’t think it is appropriate to list possible sponsors before calling on them, but maybe the makers of these insanely designed tights I like to wear would be interested

Frozen Trail Runfest 50k 2012
Frozen Trail Runfest 50k 2012
Autumn Leaves 50 mile race. Place 3rd overall 1st in age group
Autumn Leaves 50 mile race. Place 3rd overall 1st in age group
Frozen Trail Runfest 50k 2011. Summit. 3rd place overall.
Frozen Trail Runfest 50k 2011. Summit. 3rd place overall.

In the meantime here is an interesting read I found during my “research”. Maybe it’ll help me on my journey, but I’d rather hear directly from some of my Japanese counterparts at school and see what they say about these 5 Tips for Interacting with Japanese Friends and Colleagues.

Comment – Share – Engage

 

Leave a Reply

